Pecha Kucha

On Friday the 25th, the class stood before each other and presented ourselves. The style of presentation was that of Pecha Kucha, or ‘Chit Chat’. The purpose of theses presentations was to gain an insight into our classmates interests, both professional and personal. This would help us understand who would be compatible to work with in a group.

In preparation for my Pecha Kucha, I wanted to showcase my talents in various creative fields and how my hobbies and interests influenced my work. I was slightly nervous however I was confident in my slides and the points I wanted to make.

I faced one problem when the presentation began. I made my slideshow on a mac computer and when it transferred over to the windows computer, the timer no longer worked. A set back that may have lost me marks. However I continued with the presentation and hope my message was still communicated effectively.

IMG_1029

My first slide followed suit with everyone else, A baby photo. I chose this one in particular as it depicts me at a Barney concert with my Barney teddy. I felt it was a nice way to introduce my obsession with fiction and storytelling. It also worked as a nice segue to my second slide.

11899905_10203613113288009_7683393267723589760_n

My second slide shows a picture of me last month standing beside Barney. This was for my job as a Promotor. I talked about how my job involves dealing with people, working in a team and communicating a message.

I began talking about my hobbies.

writing

Walking and listening to music is an important part of my creative process. I can let my mind wonder and create stories and solve problems.

When I watch TV, I analyse the stories, the character development and the themes dealt with.

All my hobbies and interests come together in my writing. I am inspired by tv and music, and I create while walking. My imagination is as essential in my work as any software.

My writing was used in college work when I created The Man With Half a Brain. This script was one of eight chosen from around forty submissions. I was very proud that my work was well received and this gave me the opportunity to be a project manager.

Being the writer and director of the project gave me an insight into both the creative and managerial sides of a media project.

976530_4210315275758_328717978_o

When I was in secondary school I got my first taste of balancing creative and managerial work. I was the project manager for the school yearbook. The previous yearbooks were less then 10 pages long. The yearbook we created was 90 pages.

I worked with a team that all developed ideas into articles and assets to be published.

This gave me an interest in editorial design which I further explored in college. My design skills were honed and developed to communicated a message through layout, color scheme and themes.

This was further developed when it came to logo design. My interest in country music became beneficial in my research and design of Shotgun Records logo.

I finished with an image of me looking out onto the college. I summed up my interests in project management, writing and promotional design. Also pointing out that I look forward to working with a team to create a multimedia project that we can all be proud of.

Overall I felt the presentation went well. I was confident, the class laughed at the anecdotes and I feel my points were well receive

d.IMG_0005

Leave a Reply

