What Independence means to me

I never paid much attention to the concept of independence until the past year. That was, Until three events opened my eyes.

To be independent has always been important to me although I wasn’t aware that I strived for it. My parents taught me basics in the home, cooking, cleaning and shopping. These skills may seem simplistic and minor however when it came time for me to move out of the family home these skills became essential.

Living without restrictions can feel quite liberating. I was fully independent and while I had roommates and friends, I lived alone. If I didn’t take care of myself no one else would

This ties in to the second event, a job. I became financially independent. Now I didn’t even have the crutch of my parents sending me money for food or rent. This was somewhat exciting. Being solely responsible for myself gave me confidence.

To look at independence on a grander scale, during the recent marriage referendum I explored my rights as a citizen. I soon realised that my independence was not the same as others, I was less independent than many others in my life. Seeing the country vote for equal rights was a truly overwhelming for me personally. They gave me the same rights as everyone else. Now I felt I finally had an identity. I was me, 100%

Its hard not to think about places in this world where people are not free to be themselves. To be expressive, to be free of judgement.

Being free of supervision and free of to be me are major factors in what independence means to me.

Leave a Reply

